burnt hands and spaghetti squash

I like to cook.  That is very different from being good at it.  Regardless of skill, however, sometimes I get ballsy.  The result:  a spaghetti squash dish and a friggin’ mess.  I had this once a while ago and it was delightful.  When I saw them at the farmer’s market for $2 I felt like I should attempt to make this myself for the first time.  For your convenience, I took extremely low quality pictures of the process.  You can thank me later.

It isn’t your imagination. This picture is blurry as Hell and you do have a headache as a result.

What you need:
spaghetti squash
onion
tomato
garlic
basil
feta
olive oil
salt and pepper

First, oil the pan real oily.  Cut the stem off of the squash and then cut it in half.  Length-wise.  Like, if it was a person standing up, you’re slicing her from her head to her feet.  Clean the inside.  Place it face down on the pan and bake it at 350 for 45 minutes or so.

don’t forget to clean out her guts before baking her. like a pumpkin

bake that hoe.

Meanwhile, back in the kitchen, chop and saute.  (I’d wait about 20 minutes before you do this.  I did it prematurely and then I had crap getting cold on the stove before the squash was ready.  I panicked a little.)  Put 3 tablespoons-ish of olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.    Put chopped onion in there.  Saute until it’s soft.  Then add garlic.  I’m not a measurer.  Do what you want.  But chop the garlic well and put it in with the onion.  Cook it all together for another 5 or so.  Chop a tomato.  Put it in also.  Cook it until they’re warm (like 10 minutes, maybe?  Stop asking so many questions.  You’re needy.)  Once all of your stove-top mixture is good to go, check your squash.  It should be easy to poke with a knife.  A squishy squash, if you will.  Once it is, get it out and let it cool.  I was impatient.  I burned the shit out of myself several times.  I even tried to hold it with an oven mit.  It was awkward, and my hand was useless, but it was helpful.  To get the spaghetti out of your squash, use a fork and scrape the insides into a bowl.  You’ll see what happens.  It’s cool.

SEE! It’s like noodles but not. it’s also physically demanding and the best workout I’ve gotten in ages. I sang “I’ve Been Working on the Railroad” while I did this. But to each their own.

Once you have all of your squash scraped, salt and pepper the heck out of it.  Then, add the tomato/onion/garlic mixture from the stove.  Finally, add chopped basil and feta cheese.  You know what you like.  Go crazy.

yum, huh? I know.

Drink wine while you cook and more while you eat it.  You’ll be glad you did.  And the second degree burns won’t hurt as much.

Leave a comment